Dreaming of Summer

I dreamt this morning of summer. I was out in the middle of a bright blue lake by myself on a tiny speedboat. The sky above was bright, bright blue with crisp white clouds dancing above, and whitecaps peaking the waves.

I dreamt this morning of summer. I was out in the middle of a bright blue lake by myself on a tiny speedboat. The sky above was bright, bright blue with crisp white clouds dancing above, and whitecaps peaking the waves. The sun beat down on me but I could see without eyestrain and the warm, summer wind gently blew ripples into my light, white cotton dress. I sped along the water, seemingly in one direction, laughing into my cellphone, a dear friend on the other end. When I looked up into the sky again I saw a tiny little white balloon floating amidst the fluffy clouds and as I moved forward in the boat the balloon got closer. My heart was suddenly fluttering at this magic moment as I realized I could reach up to grab the balloon. I let the cellphone drop to the seat and, without anxiety, stood to catch the delicate string attached to the joyous balloon. I felt like I had swallowed up the sun, I was a ball of light and joy. I laughed whole-heartedly and described the miracle to my friend in the phone. And then I realized I no longer knew where I was on this great blue lake. I felt panic bubble a little in my sun-filled depths, but realized there was no where I couldn’t go. Every shore was a welcoming possibility and the great blue water was my home.

Leave a Reply

